www.belgium.be Logo of the federal government

CCB COORDINATED VULNERABILITY DISCLOSURE POLICY

THE BELGIAN STATE represented by the Centre for Cyber Security Belgium (CCB), with offices at Rue de la Loi 16, 1000 Brussels.

1. Policy scope

Because of the desire to improve the performance and security of our websites, the Centre for Cyber Security Belgium (CCB) has decided to implement a coordinated vulnerability disclosure policy. This enables outside participants who have good intentions to identify possible vulnerabilities and/or provide the CCB with useful information.

Access to the CCB websites’ IT systems within the framework of this policy is granted only to persons whose intention is to improve their security, to inform us of existing vulnerabilities, and in strict compliance with the other conditions set out in this document.

Participants are also authorised to attempt to enter IT data into the IT system concerned, subject to the purposes and conditions of this policy.

Our policy relates to security vulnerabilities that could be abused by third parties or interfere with the proper functioning of our products, services, network or IT systems.

List of the products, services or websites within the scope of this policy:

Systems dependent on third parties are outside the scope of this policy, unless these third parties explicitly agree in advance to these rules.

If you have any questions about the scope of this policy, please contact the CCB's legal department (vulnerabilitydisclosure[at]ccb.belgium.be).

2. Mutual obligations of the parties

A. Proportionality

Participants undertake to comply strictly with the principle of proportionality in all their activities, i.e. not to disrupt the availability of the services provided by the system and not to exploit vulnerabilities beyond what is strictly necessary to demonstrate the security issue. Their approach must remain proportionate: if the safety problem has been demonstrated on a small scale, no further action should be taken.

B. Actions that are not allowed

Participants are not permitted to take the following actions:

  • copying or altering data from the IT system or deleting data from that system;
  • changing the IT system parameters;
  • installing malware: viruses, worms, Trojan horses, etc.;
  • Distributed Denial of Service (DDOS) attacks;
  • social engineering attacks;
  • phishing attacks;
  • spamming;
  • stealing passwords or brute force attacks;
  • installing a device to intercept, store or learn of (electronic) communications that are not accessible to the public;
  • the intentional interception, storage or receipt of communications not accessible to the public or of electronic communications;
  • the deliberate use, maintenance, communication or distribution of the content of non-public communications or of data from an IT system where the participant should reasonably have known it had been obtained unlawfully.

C. Confidentiality

Under no circumstances may participants share any information collected under this policy without our prior and express consent with third parties or disseminate this information to third parties.

Nor is it permitted to communicate IT data, communication data or personal data to third parties or to distribute this data to third parties.

Our policy is not intended to allow the deliberate disclosure of the content of IT data, communication data or personal data, and such disclosure may only occur by accident in the context of the detection of vulnerabilities.

If participants enlist assistance from a third party to perform their test, they shall ensure that the third party is aware of this policy in advance and agrees to comply with the terms of the policy, including confidentiality, when providing assistance.

D. Bona fide execution

The CCB undertakes to implement this policy in good faith and not to bring civil or criminal proceedings against any participant who strictly complies with its terms and conditions and who has not intentionally caused harm to the IT systems concerned.

There can be no fraudulent intent, intent to harm, or desire to use or cause harm to the visited system or its data on the part of the participant.

In case participants are in doubt about certain conditions of our policy, they must consult our point of contact in advance and must act in accordance with the written answer they receive.

E. Processing of personal data

A coordinated disclosure policy is not intended to primarily and intentionally process personal data. Unless it is necessary to prove the existence of a vulnerability, participants are not allowed to consult, retrieve or store personal data.

However, participants may, even by accident, get access to personal data that is stored, processed or transmitted in the IT system concerned. It may also be necessary for the participant to temporarily consult, retrieve or use personal data in the context of vulnerability detection. In this case, participants must notify the CCB's Data Protection Officer: privacy[at]ccb.belgium.be.

When processing such data, participants undertake to comply with the legal obligations concerning the protection of personal data [1] and to comply with the terms of this policy.

The processing of personal data for purposes other than the detection of vulnerabilities in the CCB's systems, equipment or products is not allowed.

Participants may not store any personal data processed for longer than is necessary. During this period, participants must ensure that this information is stored with a level of protection that is proportionate to the risks (preferably encrypted). After being used for the purpose of the policy, this data must be deleted immediately.

Finally, participants must inform us of any loss of personal data as soon as possible after becoming aware of it.

[1] Regulation No 2016/679 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 27 April 2016 on the protection of natural persons with regard to the processing of personal data and on the free movement of such data (GDPR).

3. How to report security vulnerabilities

A. Point of contact

You must send the information discovered only to the following e-mail address: vulnerabilityreport[at]cert.be

and/or fill in the following form:

The completed form must be sent in Word or PDF format (no scans) and protected with a password or zip format (to avoid possible blocking by our antivirus filters).

The total size of the file must not exceed 7 MB.

We would ask you (where possible) to use the following secure means of communication:

PGP Key ID: 1668FD92 Key

Type: RSA-4096 Key

Fingerprint: A7B9 E8AA F0AA AF13 C13D 3524 3FBC 9FC1 1668 FD92

Please use a password to secure the form, which may be communicated to us by e-mail or another means of communication (telephone).

 

You can also contact the CCB on the following telephone number:

+32 (0)2 501 05 60 (CCB - CERT.be service)

 

B. Information to be provided

Please send us the related information as soon as possible after your discovery.

Provide us with sufficient information so that we can reproduce the problem and solve it as quickly as possible.

Please provide us this information in Dutch, French, German or English.

4. Procedure

A. Notification

Participants undertake to notify the contact point or the coordinator referred to in point 3A of this policy as soon as possible about information on any vulnerabilities.  Participants must use the secure means of communication mentioned.

After receiving a notification, the CCB undertakes to send the participant a confirmation of receipt, within a reasonable period of time, containing its internal reference number, a reminder of the obligation of confidentiality and the next steps in the procedure.

If participants do not receive a confirmation of receipt within a reasonable period of time, they may contact the CCB's legal representative (vulnerabilitydisclosure[at]ccb.belgium.be) so this representative can contact the CCB's technical team.

B. Communication

The parties undertake to do their utmost to ensure permanent and effective communication. After all, the information provided by participants may be very useful in identifying a vulnerability and resolving it.

C. Analysis

During the analysis phase, the CCB will reproduce the environment and the vulnerability identified, to check the information provided.

The CCB undertakes to keep participants regularly informed of the results of its analysis and of the action taken based on their notification.

In the course of this program, parties are required to link to similar or related notifications, assess the risk and severity of the vulnerability and to identify any other affected products or systems.

D. Developing a solution

The goal of the disclosure policy is to enable the development of a solution to eliminate the vulnerability from the IT system before harm is done.

Where possible and taking into account costs and existing knowledge, the CCB will try to develop a solution with its subcontractors as soon as possible, depending on the severity of the risks for the users of the systems concerned.

At this stage, the CCB and its subcontractors undertake to carry out, on the one hand, positive tests to check that the solution is working properly and, on the other hand, negative tests to ensure that the solution does not interfere with the proper functioning of the other existing features.

E. Possible publication

The CCB will decide, in consultation with the participant, how the existence of the vulnerability may be published. At the same time as this disclosure, a security notice will be published on the CCB’s website (or via e-mail), in a system update notice for users.

The CCB also undertakes to collect users' comments on the application of the solution and to take the necessary corrective action to resolve any problems caused by the solution, including those relating to compatibility with other products or services.

F. Applicable law

Belgian law shall apply to any disputes relating to the application of this policy.

G. Duration

The rules of the policy apply from 7 November 2019 until such time they are amended or annulled by the CCB. Any such amendments or annulments will be published on the CCB website and will automatically enter into force 30 days after their publication.

www.belgium.be Logo of the federal government

Politique de divulgation coordonnée des vulnérabilités du CCB

L’Etat belge représenté par le Centre pour la Cybersécurité Belgique (CCB), dont les bureaux sont sis Rue de la Loi, 16 à 1000 Bruxelles.

1. Le champ d’application de la politique

Soucieux d’améliorer la performance et la sécurité de ses sites internet, le Centre pour la Cybersécurité Belgique (CCB) a choisi d’adopter une politique de divulgation coordonnée des vulnérabilités. Celle-ci donne la possibilité à des participants externes de rechercher, avec de bonnes intentions, de potentielles vulnérabilités et/ou de lui transmettre toute information utile à ce sujet.

L’accès aux systèmes informatiques des sites du CCB dans le cadre de la présente politique n’est autorisé qu’aux personnes ayant l’intention d’en améliorer la sécurité, de nous informer des vulnérabilités existantes et dans le strict respect des autres conditions définies dans le présent document.

Le participant dispose également d’une autorisation de tenter d’introduire des données informatiques dans le système informatique visé, dans le respect des finalités et des conditions de la présente politique.

Notre politique concerne les vulnérabilités en matière de sécurité susceptibles d’être exploitées par des tiers ou de perturber le bon fonctionnement de nos produits, services, réseaux ou systèmes d’information.

La liste des produits, services ou sites internet dans le champ d’application de la présente politique :

Les systèmes qui dépendent de tiers sont exclus du champ d’application de la présente politique, sauf si ceux-ci marquent explicitement et préalablement leur accord sur les présentes règles.

Si vous avez des questions sur le champ d’application de la présente politique, vous êtes invité à les adresser au service juridique du CCB (vulnerabilitydisclosure@ccb.belgium.be).

2. Les obligations réciproques des parties

A. La proportionnalité

Le participant s’engage dans toutes ses actions à respecter scrupuleusement le principe de proportionnalité, c’est-à-dire de ne pas perturber la disponibilité des services fournis par le système et de ne pas faire usage de la vulnérabilité au-delà de ce qui est strictement nécessaire à la démonstration de la faille de sécurité. Son attitude doit rester proportionnée : si la démonstration est établie à petit échelle, il n’est pas nécessaire de l’étendre plus loin.

B. Les actions interdites

Le participant ne peut recourir aux actions suivantes :

  •  la copie, la modification ou la suppression de données du système informatique ;
  •  la modification des paramètres du système informatique ;
  •  l’installation d’un logiciel malveillant (malware) : virus, vers (worm), chevaux de Troie (trojan horse, ou autre ;
  •  les attaques par déni de service (Distributed Denial Of Service- DDOS) ;
  •  les attaques par ingénierie sociale (social engineering) ;
  •  les attaques par hameçonnage (phishing) ;
  •  les attaques par courriels indésirables (spamming) ;
  •  le vol de mots de passe ou l’attaque en force de mots de passe (brute force) ;
  •  l’installation d’appareil permettant l’interception, la prise de connaissance ou l’enregistrement de communication non accessible au public ou d’une communication électronique ;
  •  l’interception, l’enregistrement ou la prise de connaissance intentionnelle d’une communication non accessible au public ou d’une communication électronique ;
  •  l’utilisation, la détention, la révélation, l’usage ou la divulgation intentionnelle du contenu de communications non accessibles au public ou de données d’un système informatique, dont le participant ne peut raisonnablement ignorer qu’elles ont été obtenues illégalement.

C. La confidentialité

Le participant doit s’abstenir strictement de partager ou de divulguer avec des tiers les informations récoltées dans le cadre de notre politique, sans notre accord préalable et explicite.

De même, il n’est pas permis de révéler ou de divulgation des données informatiques, des données de communication ou des données à caractère personnelle à des tiers.

L’objectif de notre politique n’est pas de permettre la prise de connaissance intentionnelle du contenu de données informatiques, de données de communication ou de données à caractère personnelle et une telle prise de connaissance ne pourrait intervenir que de manière fortuite dans le cadre de la recherche de vulnérabilités.

Si le participant souhaite l’aide d’un tiers pour exécuter ses recherches, le participant doit s’assurer que celui-ci prend préalablement connaissance de la présente politique et accepte, en offrant son assistance, d’en respecter les conditions, en ce compris la confidentialité.

D. L’exécution de bonne foi

Le CCB s’engage à exécuter de bonne foi la présente politique et de ne pas poursuivre en justice, au civil ou au pénal, le participant qui en respecte scrupuleusement les conditions et n’aurait pas provoqué intentionnellement des dommages aux systèmes informatiques concernés.

Le participant doit être dénué d’intention frauduleuse, de dessein de nuire, de volonté de faire usage ou de provoquer un dommage au système visité ou encore à ses données.

En cas de doute sur certaines des conditions de notre politique, le participant doit interroger préalablement notre point de contact et disposer de sa réponse écrite avant d’agir.

E. Le traitement de données à caractère personnel

L’objet d’une politique de divulgation coordonnée n’est pas d’effectuer principalement et intentionnellement des traitements de données à caractère personnel. Sauf si cela est nécessaire à la démonstration de l’existence d’une vulnérabilité, le participant n’est pas autorisé à consulter, l’extraire ou enregistrer des données à caractère personnel.

Cependant, il est possible que le participant accède, même de manière fortuite, à des données à caractère personnel stockées, traitées ou transmises dans le système informatique concerné. Il peut également s’avérer nécessaire au participant, dans le cadre de ses recherches de vulnérabilités, de devoir temporairement consulter, extraire ou utiliser des données à caractère personnel. Dans ce cas, le participant en avertira le délégué à la protection des données à caractère personnel du CCB : privacy@ccb.belgium.be

En cas de traitement de telles données, le participant s’engage à respecter les obligations légales en matière de protection des données à caractère personnel[1] et les conditions de la présente politique.

Tout traitement de données à caractère personnel pour une autre finalité que la recherche des vulnérabilités des systèmes, équipements ou produits du CCB est exclue.

Le participant ne peut conserver plus longtemps que nécessaire les éventuelles données à caractère personnel traitées. Durant cette période, le participant doit veiller à ce que ces données soient conservées en garantissant un niveau de sécurité adapté aux risques encourus (de préférence de manière encryptée). A l’issue de sa participation à la politique, ces données doivent être supprimés immédiatement.

Enfin, le participant doit nous informer, dans les meilleurs délais après en avoir pris connaissance, de toute perte éventuelle de données à caractère personnel.

[1] Règlement européen n°2016/679 du 27 avril 2016 relatif à la protection des personnes physiques à l'égard du traitement des données à caractère personnel et à la libre circulation de ces données (RGPD Règlement général sur la protection des données).

3. Comment signaler les vulnérabilités de sécurité ?

A. Les points de contact

Vous devez addresser exclusivement les informations découvertes à l'adresse courriel suivante: vulnerabilityreport@cert.be​, et/ou en complétant le formulaire suivant: 

Dans la mesure du possible, nous vous invitons à utiliser les moyens de communication sécurisés suivants :

PGP Key ID: 1668FD92 Key

Type: RSA-4096 Key

Fingerprint: A7B9 E8AA F0AA AF13 C13D 3524 3FBC 9FC1 1668 FD92

Vous pouvez également contacter le service ou la personne responsable de la politique au(x) numéro(s) de téléphone(s) suivant(s) :

+32 (0)2 501 05 60 (Centre pour la Cybersécurité Belgique – service CERT.be)

 

B. Les informations à transmettre

Dès que possible après la découverte, adressez-nous les informations sur vos découvertes.

Fournissez suffisamment d'informations pour nous permettre de reproduire le problème et de le résoudre le plus rapidement possible.

Nous vous demandons de nous fournir (en français, en néerlandais, en allemand ou en anglais), au moins les informations pertinentes suivantes :

4. La procédure

A. La notification

Le participant s’engage à notifier, dans les plus brefs délais, les informations découvertes sur des éventuelles vulnérabilités au point de contact ou au coordinateur, repris au point 3 a) de la présente politique. Le participant doit respecter les moyens de communication sécurisés désignés.

Lorsqu’elle reçoit une notification, le CCB s’engage à envoyer au participant un accusé de réception, dans un délai raisonnable et avec la référence interne de celle-ci, un rappel de son obligation de confidentialité et les étapes suivantes de la procédure.

A défaut d’accusé de réception dans un délai raisonnable, le participant pourra, le cas échéant, contacter le responsable juridique du CCB (vulnerabilitydisclosure@ccb.belgium.be) afin que celui-ci prenne contact avec l’équipe technique au sein du CCB.

B. La communication

Les parties s’engagent à mettre tout en œuvre pour assurer une communication continue et efficace. Les renseignements fournis par le participant peuvent, en effet, s’avérer très utiles pour identifier la vulnérabilité, y apporter une solution.

C. L’investigation

La phase d’investigation permettra au CCB de reproduire l'environnement et le comportement signalé afin de vérifier les informations communiquées.

Le CCB s’engage à tenir informé de manière régulière le participant des résultats des investigations et des suites données à sa notification.

Durant ce processus, les parties veilleront à faire le lien avec les notifications similaires ou connexes, à évaluer le risque et la gravité de la vulnérabilité, et à déterminer les éventuels autres produits ou systèmes affectés.

D. Le développement d’une solution

L’objectif de la politique de divulgation est de permettre le développement d’une solution afin de faire disparaître la vulnérabilité du système informatique, avant que des dommages ne soient causés.

Dans la mesure du possible, des coûts et de l’état des connaissances, le CCB tentera de mettre au point avec ses sous-traitants une solution dans les meilleurs délais, en fonction de la gravité des risques encourus par les utilisateurs des systèmes concernés.

Dans cette phase, le CCB et ses sous-traitants s’engagent à mener, d’une part, des tests positifs pour vérifier que la solution fonctionne correctement et, d’autre part, des tests négatifs pour s’assurer que la solution ne perturbe pas le bon fonctionnement des autres fonctionnalités existantes.

E. L’éventuelle publication

Le CCB décidera, en coordination avec le participant, des modalités pour rendre éventuellement public l’existence de la vulnérabilité. Cette publication se fera en même temps que la diffusion d’avis de sécurité sur son site internet (ou par courriel), dans une notice de mise à jour du système destiné aux utilisateurs.

Le CCB s’engage également à recueillir les commentaires des utilisateurs sur le déploiement de la solution et de prendre les mesures correctives nécessaires pour régler les éventuels problèmes posés par la solution, notamment de compatibilité avec d'autres produits ou services.

  • Droit applicable

Le droit belge est applicable aux litiges liées à l’application de la présente politique.

  • Durée

Les règles de la politique sont applicables à partir du 7/11/2019 jusqu’à leur éventuelle modification ou suppression par le CCB. Ces modifications ou suppressions seront publiées sur le site internet du CCB et s’appliqueront automatiquement après un délai de 30 jours après leur publication.